See our expert panel of judges below!

Alistair McConville

Alistair McConville is director of learning and innovation at Bedales School, where he teaches RE and philosophy. He also writes for Tes.

Annette Roberts

Annette Roberts is a retired headteacher and former chair of the Junior Society of Heads and the Association of Junior Independent Schools.

Bernard Trafford

Bernard Trafford is a retired independent school headteacher, a former chair of the Headmasters’ and Headmistresses’ College and a former council member of the Association of School and College Leaders. He also writes regularly for Tes.

Deborah Leek-Bailey OBE

Deborah Leek-Bailey OBE has been appointed to the senior leadership team role, Head of UK Independent Schools, for Education Development Trust. She is also Education Advisor to Child bereavement UK and a journalist for the TES.

Dr David James

David James is deputy head of Lady Eleanor Holles School and a member of the Independent Schools Inspectorate’s Educational Advisory Forum. He is also a Tes columnist.

Durell Barnes
Independent Schools Examinations Board

Durell Barnes is chair of the Independent Schools Examinations Board. He is also head of governance and compliance at RSAcademics.

Gwen Byrom

Gwen Byrom is director of education strategy at North London Collegiate School International and a former president of the Girls’ Schools Association.

John Claughton

John Claughton is development officer at the International Baccalaureate Schools and Colleges Association. He is also senior counsel at Graham Pelton Consulting.

Julie Robinson

Julie Robinson is chief executive of the Independent Schools Council and a former headteacher.

Mike Abraham

Mike Abraham is an educational consultant at Heads for Heads. He is also a former independent school headteacher and a former inspector with the Independent Schools Inspectorate.

Rachel Hadley-Leonard

Rachel Hadley-Leonard is the former chair of Admissions, Marketing and Communications in Independent Schools. She now works as an independent schools marketing, admissions and development consultant.

Richard Walden

Richard Walden is vice-president of the Independent Schools Association, a retired headteacher and a former inspector for the Independent Schools Inspectorate.

Simon Larter-Evans

Simon Larter-Evans is headmaster of St Paul’s Cathedral School, an independent pre-prep and prep school in the City of London.